What are the Types of City Government

The type of local governments varies in different parts of the country. However, most of them have a similar structure, with a central council, which is elected by the voters, an executive officer and heads of the different departments. Although there exists a charter, which talks about the power and objectives of the city government, they have to work in close contact with the state and the federal government. The three different types of city governments are:

  • Mayor Council
  • Commission
  • Council Manager